Medical Necessity

While having a difficult conversation yesterday, it was pointed out to me that female-to-male chest reconstruction surgery is not medically necessary.

This was during a conversation where I was doing my best to listen to their points of view and advice, and I was hoping that they would do the same.  The end result is that regardless if either side were listening, no one’s mind was going to be changed and everyone’s feelings got hurt in some way because we all feel like we don’t respect each other.  It was a difficult conversation for me to be having because I don’t want any of my parents to think that I disrespect them, while at the same time I must demand some respect for me and my own feelings.

I have made progress in my ability to communicate with my family.  I’m not saying I talk to them often or have incredibly in-depth conversations- but by and large they are pleasant conversations and I still want to get to know them better.

Unfortunately, when someone tells me that top surgery is not medically necessary, I pretty much ignore everything else they’ve said for the last 24-48 hours.

For me, it goes like this:  what exactly is medically necessary?  When you ask me to define the term, I’m going to tell you that the only things in life that are medically necessary are the very fundamentals that keep us alive. Treatment for superficial injuries such as broken arms, preventative care for diabetes, and medication for allergies and depression are not medically necessary. You will survive.  You could survive.  Humans survived as a race without those things for centuries, is it our right to have them? I often times hear the argument that because top surgery isn’t medically necessary, that it doesn’t need to be covered by health insurance.  O really? Gender identity is as real as eyesight or mania/depression.  There’s no changing the way you feel or the way you see the world, there’s only adapting the way you live in the world.

I don’t think health insurance is about helping people survive anymore, medical necessity went by the wayside when insurance started covering glasses, corrective surgeries, and preventative treatments.  Health insurance is about taking care of people so that they can LIVE.

Comments on: "Medical Necessity" (1)

  1. It’s an interesting topic to debate. For one, it’s a thing where an once of prevention can be worth so much. Yes, prior authorizations exist for a reason, there has to be a line drawn somewhere. I understand your frustration with people who think it’s all cosmetic. I’m not debating the reality of disorder. You didn’t pick it anymore than I said I think when I grow up I want to have allergies and asthma. That seems like a good path in life. Nature, nurture whatever the heck brought people to this point. There is a point at which the American culture comes to the medical community to be ‘fixed’. Whether the cure is better than the disease or if it can even be ‘fixed’ is a completely different issue. None the less it has be come expected by the mainstream middle class and those in higher classes that the insurance industry will pay for them to be fixed. Is this ethical, is it right, is it equitable? That is a deep question that I can’t really even begin to find the words to answer. None the less many people benefit from the way in which the societal norm of insurance covering the cure to your ailments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

