Appeals Process, 2.

After taking my case back to the medical director with the indication that I am on hormones, HealthPartners has decided to uphold their decline of my request for authorization on the grounds that their criteria for coverage are meant to all be met.  While this is bullshit, because they designed the criteria directly from the WPATH Standards of Care which take special consideration for FTM top surgery as a more necessary procedure earlier in the timeline… yet HealthPartners claim that chest and genital surgeries should be taken with the same regard.

This was not an official appeal so I still have that option.

In two days, I’ve been on testosterone for five months.

In one month, I have to be back in the classroom.

In two months, I turn 23 and mark my 1 year anniversary of choosing to live everyday as myself.

In 66 days, my written exam/masters thesis is due.

I’m not sure when I’m going to have surgery.

Leave a comment