Drag

I performed in a local drag show during undergrad.  It was something I did for a bit of semesterly big fun- for one glorious evening I got to bind the chest that made me squirm, put on the clothes that made me feel the most handsome, tuck my hair into a hat, and not apologize to anyone for my masculinity.  I looked forward to this one night in drag all semester, even during the summers.  I loved dressing in drag so much that for one of my birthdays I wore drag to my dinner.

I wasn’t especially good at it, there wasn’t a community of kings or other gender benders for me to learn from, and my dancing skills are seriously sub-par- but, I did it for the high that I felt all night just wearing the clothes.  Picking a song that I could use to express myself further was just icing on the cake.

I’m so glad I performed in those drag shows, and I get all nostalgic thinking about it.  Would I go back to performing in drag shows?  Sure.  Do I feel like I’m aching for the next time I can perform?  Absolutely not.  I get to do my own drag performance every day as a part of revealing myself to the world.

I performed to Mambo No. 5 (several times), Are You Gonna Be My Girl, Sexy Back, and A Little Less Conversation. …I think there were others that I can’t remember at the moment…

Now on to the videos… warning: seriously awkward moments ahead.

Freshman year of undergrad (first show):

Senior Year of undergrad (last show):


Leave a comment