My Voice

Especially in the morning- it’s so different- deeper.  I love it.  Probably my favorite change from the T.

You know the scene in the Emporer’s New Groove when Yzma (the evil lady) gets turned into a cat, she cackles, and then is like “Is that MY voice?”  Every couple of days the first time I speak in the morning I have one of those moments, where I get this nice little surprise.

My voice does crack a lot later in the day (~10pm), especially after days where I’ve been talking loudly quite a bit (oh, teaching).  I have yet to figure out how to consistently yell and holler while playing softball without my voice sounding like a cat in a washing machine.

The change in my voice is making me a lot more confident when it comes to daily living, and that is a welcome relief.  My name change trial is in 1 week (Cinco de Mayo!) and I’m really excited- especially because I know when I need to talk I’ll sound… like myself.  Sounding like a guy is an expression of masculinity that I very much identify with.  Being able to speak strongly with a deeper voice is important to me because I am the type of person that is protective and supportive- I try to be a strong person in all aspects.

Leave a comment