Name Change Simplicities and Complexities

I’m in this time between with my name change.  Because of how I worded the gender marker change, I’m waiting on my amended birth certificate before I can get a “male” drivers license…

but I’ve notified my student loan lenders, bank, credit card, the SSA, and my work.

Having credit cards with my name on them finally has been both a blessing and a curse.  I was at the grocery store when the automatic checkout wanted a signature verification, and after greeting me as sir the checker asked to see my card.  Awkward situation avoided.  Of course at the airport trying to make changes to a flight I booked for Elizabeth (since my gov’t ID’s aren’t updated yet) and tried to make a purchase with my new credit card, the teller asked to see ID.  Well, here’s my old credit card and the ID that matches it. When asked to show something that links the 2 cards, I nicely told him that I don’t have documentation that I’m a transgendered male and in the middle of my name change.  He accepted my explanation of the truth, fortunately.

The majority of the cost of the name change was incurred by court fees, but I know that there will probably be more unexpected side costs. I’ll loose about $150/year more on car insurance once I have a male drivers license.

Filing fee: $320
Certified copies: $56
Birth certificate change: $45
(New drivers license $13.50)

The biggest part of the fight is over.  The pros outweigh the cons.  The relief from knowing that my life is actually becoming more simple when it comes to my name change is phenomenal.